Attracted to Glory



I am attracted to glory.  Who doesn’t want to stand next to the popular person to be identified with them and get some of the attention? Or is it glory we seek? I cheer and tear up when reading or viewing a story about a hero. A bride in her wedding dress walking toward her beloved. The child who rest in His peace as she faces long painful treatments for leukemia.  The child whose eyes are full of wonder with the first snowflakes.  The movies like “Glory” or “Gettysburg” to name a few stir feelings of awe and wonder at the sacrifices made.

What is it that stirs our feelings, our souls in the search for glory?

Many Christmas plays and concerts are being attended during the Advent season. Some are cute; some secular and some fill our hearts with wonder and with longing as we ponder the angels’ visits.  The stirring of a child in the womb.  The honor of a simple man in protecting his betrothed.  The glory of it all.

“The Miracle of Christmas” (http://www.sight-sound.com) was glory inspiring.  The flying angels, the songs, the lights reflected the unseen of those days and inspired the audience to ponder the wonder and miracles that took place and impact us today. Handle’s Messiah endures because it brings us a taste of glory.  Did you see the flash mob singing the Hallelujah chorus? (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXh7JR9oKVE) I wept. Yes, I am attracted to glory.

I thought about the appeal of these thing that have stirred my heart and it came to me in a small whisper…”It is because you are attracted to glory.”  Why yes, yes, I am!  The attraction to glory is a good thing because I know where true glory can be found.  It is a yearning.

The attraction to glory in us humans is strong, God placed. How many seek glory, recognize glory in others but miss the true source of glory? Frankly, if a play or human actions stir my heart and soul to be awe-struck what ever will He be like? Is it a danger to be like those John wrote of…”For they loved the glory that comes from man more than the glory that comes from God.” John 12:43?

So what does the word mean? Glory conveys the idea of some external, physical manifestation of dignity, preeminence or majesty. Two uses are the majesty, dignity, splendor or honor of a person and  most important of all, it describes the  way Yahweh reveals Himself or is the sign and manifestation of His presence.

And to think, I am to reflect His glory???  I shake my head at the thought.  My commonness and humanness are to reflect His Glory?

What is even more puzzling is I know people who do reflect His glory! I love just standing nearby.  The elder woman with a rich heritage as a missionary, as a woman of God. When she holds my hand, I feel the touch of Him and a glimmer of His glory as I look into her face.  A mother cooing to her child. Glorious.  A soldier standing ready for battle, ready for sacrifice.  The simplicity of a heartfelt hello. The face of one sitting in silence in prayer.  A woman and child, my child walking among beggars handing out food, offering a touch of love and words for the weary heart, “Jesus loves you.”

Yes, I am attracted to glory.  I am on the hunt for those things of glory that stir my heart toward Him looking forward to that day when we shall behold Him.

My soul, thy great Creator praise;
When cloth’d in his celestial rays
He in full Majesty appears,
And, like a robe, his glory wears.

Psalm 104:1

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Reflection, Things to come, Truth, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attracted to Glory

  1. What a GLORIous post.
    I am speechless.
    How refreshing to read a post from someone who thinks and writes like I do.
    I get it.
    I feel oh, so unworthy most days to hold His glory.
    But am amazed that He still lets me.
    Praise Him!
    HUGS!
    ~me

Leave a Reply

