Forgotten Coram Deo

The jazz is playing in the background, almost too loud for this quiet afternoon.  I can hear the soft voice of  Sweet Pea chattering instead of sleeping. My husband asks a question.  I am studying, reading source material, cut and pasting what I think may be useful then an unexpected phrase stops me.

Not “walk with Me”, words He spoke to Abram in Genesis 17, the main topic of the selection. Not the litany of what had been done right or wrong by Abram or by man since then.  No.  The words…I have forgotten my Shepherd’s presence shouted at me of the page!

Exactly.  I have forgotten my Shepherd’s presence.

I  have  forgotten  Coram Deo. Living  in  His Presence.

Ouch.  No, that is too common, too easy a response implying just a band-aid is needed and all will be fine.

Instead, my response should be Mercy! It is Mercy!

The cry for mercy before a Holy God who has promised His presence is all I could think off.  I have taken His Presence for granted. Mercy!

Mercy! Like the old-fashioned language of “I have forgotten my Shepherd’s Presence”, women and men of old, at least in the south, would say “Mercy!”  Loud or soft and always when there has been a wrong done to or by. Mercy.  What a wonder of a word! Sometimes when someone did something just plain stupid.  With a shake of the head, Mercy!

You are forgiving and good, O Lord, abounding in love to all who call to you. Hear my prayer, O LORD; listen to my cry for mercy. Psalm 86:5-6


Ch.Spurgeon http://christianbookshelf.org/spurgeon/

spurgeons_sermons_volume_14_1868/consecration_to_godillustrated_by_abrahams.htm


About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Disciplines of the Mind and Heart, Old Testament, Refining, Sin, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forgotten Coram Deo

  1. stephanie says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey here, good reminders. Mercy!!… I am not sure how I have missed your last few posts. I thought I registered for your blog? Hmmm… will start to read the last few that I have missed. Much love~ Steph

  2. omega57 says:

    Hey! This is an encouragement to be better about writing out some of those many thoughts whirling in my head and heart! Love you!

Leave a Reply

